Customizing phpBB Template Files

I spent the better part of today installing a phpBB forum on a new site (specifically phpBB 3.0.4).  This was my first experience with phpBB, and it looks pretty cool.  I won’t cover the install process here — there are plenty of great resources available for that — suffice it to say that it was very easy to install.

Once I had the software installed, I wanted to make some modifications to the header — include my own logo, etc.  This should have been easy, it’s just a matter of editing the overall_header.html file (download file via ftp, edit in text editor, upload, refresh).  But…no matter what I did, I couldn’t get my changes to show.  After quite a bit of time, I found a solution in a forum (yes, ironic).

To hopefully save others some frustration, I’m re-posting it here.  The key is that you need to refresh your template before the changes will show on the site.  To do this:

Go to Forum ACP->Style Tab->Template->Refresh your Template

That’s it!  Wish I would have known a few hours ago 🙂

6 Responses to “Customizing phpBB Template Files”

  1. albirea-dintilor Says:

    Albirea Dintilor Acasa

    Dinti galbeni de la tutun si cafea? Poti sa incepi sa-ti albesti dintii acum, si vei observa rezultate in doar 3 zile! Produsul nostru, Crest Whitestrips, este nr. 1 in lume in albirea dintilor si recomandat de medicii stomatologi de pretutindeni.

  2. nosniki reklamy Says:

    Wow, fantastic weblog layout! How long have you been blogging
    for? you make running a blog look easy. The full glance of
    your website is great, let alone the content!

  3. reklama Says:

    Heya i am for the primary time here. I found this board and I in finding
    It really useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to present one thing
    back and aid others such as you helped me.

  4. uslugi reklamowe Says:

    hey there and thank you for your information
    – I have certainly picked up something new from right here.
    I did however expertise a few technical issues using this web site, as I experienced to reload the website
    a lot of times previous to I could get it to load correctly.
    I had been wondering if your hosting is OK? Not that I am
    complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will often affect
    your placement in google and could damage your high-quality score if advertising and
    marketing with Adwords. Anyway I am adding this RSS to
    my email and can look out for a lot more of your respective fascinating content.
    Make sure you update this again soon.

  5. margechambers21768 Says:

    Do You think Ie`m attractive? Well than You should see me naked… I will totally blow Your mind! join here http://klik.bz/margechambers21768081515

  6. hamburguesa Says:

    Unquestionably believe that which you said. Your favourite justification appeared
    to be at the net the easiest thing to have in mind of.
    I say to you, I certainly get irked at the same time as folks think about worries that they
    plainly don’t realize about. You controlled to
    hit the nail upon the highest and defined out the
    whole thing with no need side-effects , folks can take a signal.

    Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

Leave a Reply

